Private Browsing

The best option is to use private browsing in future. When you are surfing the Internet using private browsing your browser will store information only temporarily and once you close the private browsing window it will be deleted leaving no trace on your computer. Most Internet browsers have a private browsing option (although what they call it may vary). If you don't know the type of browser you are using, see if you can find a Help option on the toolbar or other menu at the top of your browser screen; that should have a drop down menu with an entry saying "About [name of browser]" -- for example, "About Google Chrome".

Google Chrome calls private browsing "Incognito". To open a private browsing window in Chrome, click on the three dots in the top right-hand corner of the screen and select "New incognito window".

Safari calls private browsing "Private". To open a private browsing window in Safari, click on "File" in the top left-hand corner of the screen and select "New Private Window".

Mozilla Firefox calls private browsing "Private". To open a private browsing window in Firefox, click on the three lines in the top right-hand corner of the screen and select "New Private Window".

Microsoft browsers (Internet Explorer and Edge) call it "InPrivate". To open a private browsing window in Internet Explorer, go to settings in the top right-hand corner, click on "Safety" select "InPrivate Browsing". To open a private browsing window in Edge, click on the three dots in the top right-hand corner of the screen and select "New InPrivate window".

If you are accessing the Internet from a smartphone, there are private browsing apps available for Android and for iPhone.

Remember to close the private browsing window when you are done so that the temporary files and information will be deleted.